Club Safeguarding and Welfare

Safeguarding and Welfare Policy

LSAC has adopted the BSAC 'Buddy Guard' safeguarding scheme, and requests that all members of the club adhere to it's contents.

Welfare Officer

LSAC has a dedicated Welfare Officer, currently this is: Ruth Adams.

You can contact the welfare officer in confidence should you have any questions about safeguarding or any other welfare issues.

The welfare officer is elected to the committee at each Annual General Meeting and is responsible for:

  • Being the primary contact, maintaining confidential records and ensuring suitable action is taken for any reported welfare cases
  • Liaising with BSAC HQ on the protection of children and vulnerable adults
  • Implementing and promoting the clubs policy and procedures, including general communication with members to encourage good practice
  • Keeping abreast of developments and understanding the latest information on data protection, confidentiality and other legal issues that impact on the protection of children and vulnerable adults.

Disclosure Barring Service (DBS)

All of the LSAC instructors undergo a DBS (formerly known as the Criminal Records Bureau / CRB) check every 3 years confirming no previous history that would prevent them from working with children or vulnerable adults.

BSAC Safeguarding Children and Vulnerable Adults

Both LSAC and BSAC take the safeguarding of children and vulnerable adults very seriously.

BSAC worked alongside the following leading organisations to produce their Buddy Guard scheme:

  • The Amateur Swimming Association (ASA)
  • The National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (NSPCC)
  • The Child Protection in Sport Unit (CSPU)
  • The Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS)

Diving and Dive Trips

Dive Trips Calendar

Sat 28 - Sun 29 March 2020
Menai Strait Run (RIB)

Sat 23 - Tue 26 May 2020
Falmouth, Cornwall (RIB)

Sat 22 August 2020
Blue Shark Experience
Falmouth, Cornwall (Hard Boat)

Sat 09 - Sun 10 March 2019
Menai Strait Run (RIB)

Sat 06 - Sun 07 April 2019
Boat Handling
Plymouth, Devon (RIB)

Fri 19 - Mon 22 April 2019
Plymouth, Devon (RIB)

Sat 25 - Tue 28 May 2019
Falmouth, Cornwall (RIB)

Sat 10 - Sun 11 August 2019
Plymouth, Devon (RIB)

Sat 13 - Sun 14 September 2019
St Abbs (Hard Boat and RIB)

Sat 05 - Sun 06 October 2019
Swanage (Hard Boat)

Sat 05 - Sun 06 October 2019
Plymouth, Devon (RIB)

Stoney Cove Training

Dive Trips Calendar

Sat 26 January 2019
Stoney Cove/Chepstow

Sat 23 March 2019
Stoney Cove/Chepstow

Sat 11 + Sun 12 May 2019
Stoney Cove

Sat 18 May 2019
Stoney Cove/Chepstow

Wed 05 & Wed 19 June 2019
Stoney Cove Night Dive
Training Evening

Sat 06 July 2019
Stoney Cove/Chepstow

Wed 03 & Wed 17 July 2019
Stoney Cove Night Dive
Training Evening

Wed 07 & Wed 21 August 2019
Stoney Cove Night Dive
Training Evening

Sat 05 October 2019
Stoney Cove/Chepstow

Many adhoc dates (as required)
Stoney Cove

Events and Socials

Events and Socials

Sat 23 Feb 2019
Annual Dinner, The Greyhound, Lutterworth

Sat 06 July 2019
BBQ/Picnic, Coombe Abbey

Sat 01 September 2019
Canoeing, River Trent

Sun 27 October 2019
Curry Night
Dine India, Countesthorpe

Sat 03 December 2019
Quiz Night
Royal Oak, Bitteswell

BSAC

EasyFundraising