As a branch of the British Sub Aqua Club (BSAC) we are able to offer two different snorkelling courses.

Dolphin Snorkeller

The Dolphin Snorkeller course is an entry level course for youngsters (8 years and above), it introduces snorkelling in a series of 7 progressive, fun and practical sessions.

Each session teaches a new skill and includes a game at the end which demonstrates the skill learnt:

  • Basic water confidence
  • Fitting and clearing of mask and snorkel
  • Fitting fins and finning techniques
  • Surface dives
  • Entries and exits
  • Buddy pairs
  • Buddy rescue

The sessions are named after different dolphins and completion of a session results in the award of a corresponding dolphin sticker. Once snorkellers have collected all 7 stickers they are awarded the grade of BSAC Dolphin Snorkeller.

Snorkel Diver

The snorkel diver course is open to anyone 12 years or above and includes of 3 theory lessons covering:

  • An introduction to LSAC
  • The course and costs
  • The snorkelling kit used for the course
  • The science of snorkelling
  • Safety with buddy pairs
  • Surface cover
  • Site assessment
  • Marine conservation

The theory lessons are followed by an assessment (either a multi choice paper or verbal assessment, or as a fun quiz for younger members).

The course also has 5 pool sessions covering:

  • Introduction to snorkelling equipment and usage
  • Different finning techniques
  • Types of entry/exit
  • Mask and snorkel clearing
  • Ear clearing
  • Buddy rescue

Dolphin snorkellers who later wish to become a snorkel diver only need complete the theory part of this course.

Get In Touch With Us


By Email: info@lsac.co.uk

By Phone: 07365 207708

When And Where We Meet:
Wednesdays from 19:00
At The Olde Royal Oak, Bitteswell
How to Find Us

Diving and Dive Trips


Dive Trips Calendar

Thu 14 - Mon 18 April 2022
Brixham

Wed 18 - Wed 25 May 2022
West Bay

Wed 01 - Wed 08 June 2022
Falmouth

Sat 13 - Sat 20 August 2022
Baltimore (Co. Cork)

Wed 14 - Thu 22 September 2022
St Abbs

Wed 05 - Wed 12 October 2022
Red Sea

Most Fridays plus other days
Stoney Cove

2023
Scapa Flow

2023
Shetlands

Events and Socials


Events and Socials

Wed 09 February 2022
Quiz Night

Sat 05 March 2022
Dive Show at Stoneleigh

Wed 06 April 2022
Curry Night

Wed 27 April 2022
EGM - Future Direction of LSAC

Sat 16 July 2022
Summer BBQ

Wed 28 September 2022
AGM

Wed 25 January 2023
Annual Dinner